ASPPH logo




2014 Riegelman Award Presented at the Undergraduate Education for Public Health Summit

The Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2014 Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education, Dr. Sarah Bauerle Bass, associate professor, Temple University College of Public Health. The award was presented at the fourth annual Undergraduate Education for Public Health Summit on Saturday, November 15 in New Orleans, LA. This national award is given to one full-time, undergraduate public health faculty member at a university with a CEPH-accredited school or program of public health, who has made outstanding contributions in the following areas: exemplary efforts to start a new program; innovative teaching techniques using advanced technology; relationships with practice partners in the community; collaboration with other disciplines; relationships with graduate programs in public health; and sustainability.

[Photo: Dr. Sarah Bauerle Bass (left) and Dr. Richard Riegelman]

Dean Laura Siminoff, Temple University College of Public Health, writes, “As the founding director of the undergraduate program at Temple University, Dr. Sarah Bass has transformed its curriculum, ensured its accreditation as one of the first national undergraduate public health programs, overseen a 400% increase in enrollment, and been responsible for the program’s reputation as an innovative national model.”

Dean John Finnegan, University of Minnesota School of Public Health, and Dr. Richard Riegelman founding dean and professor, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, presented the award.