ASPPH logo




2018 USPHS Award Winner and Finalists Recognized for Exemplary Interprofessional, Team-Based Practice

The U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) and the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) awarded East Tennessee State University (ETSU) the 2018 Public Health Excellence in Interprofessional Education Collaboration Award this past Wednesday June 26 in Washington, DC during the summer IPEC Council meeting.  Dr. Bob Weiler (George Mason) and Dr. Laura Magaña (ASPPH) were in attendance, with ASPPH staff, and other IPEC colleagues.

The USPHS IPEC Award is presented to a team of health professional school-based collaborators for their innovative approach to community and public health practice with an emphasis on addressing the social determinants of health and health equity. USPHS and IPEC commend ETSU’s strong community focus on the prevention and treatment of substance abuse throughout east Tennessee and the region.


[Photo: Dr. Rob Pack]

Rear Admiral Pamela Schweitzer, USPHS, and Dr. Richard Valachovic, Chair, IPEC Board of Directors and President and CEO, American Dental Education Association, presented the award to Dr. Rob Pack, primary investigator of the Diversity Promoting Drug Abuse Research Program (DIDARP), executive director, Center for Prescription Drug Abuse Treatment and Prevention, and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at ETSU, Ms. Angela Hagaman, director of operations at the Center for Prescription Drug Abuse Treatment and Prevention, and Ms. Alice McCaffrey, director of the Sullivan County Anti-Drug Coalition.

To view the full press release and complete list of winners, click here.