ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Arkansas: Dr. Wendy Nembhard Selected for Aspen Health Innovators Fellowship

Dr. Wendy Nembhard, chair of the epidemiology department at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health, was chosen to join the next class of Health Innovator Fellows at the Aspen Institute.

The goal of the Health Innovators Fellowship is to strengthen the leadership of innovators across the U.S. health care ecosystem and to connect, inspire, and challenge these leaders to create new approaches to improve the health and well-being of Americans. The two-year fellowship offers successful health care leaders a unique opportunity to clarify their own core values and explore questions of effective and enlightened leadership with a diverse group of peers with whom they would not ordinarily interact. Fellows commit to launching a leadership venture that will stretch and challenge them and have a positive and lasting impact on health care in the U.S.

As part of the fellowship, Dr. Nembhard was also asked to join the Aspen Global Leadership Network, which is a growing network of entrepreneurial leaders from business, government, and the nonprofit sector — currently, more than 3,000 Fellows from 60 countries — who share a commitment to enlightened leadership and to using their creativity, energy, and resources to tackle the foremost societal challenges of our times.

Dr. Nembhard is also an associate professor and director of the Arkansas Center for Birth Defects Research and Prevention at UAMS.

News release

Tags: ,