ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Beta Chi Chapter of Delta Omega at Georgia Inducts New Members

On April 8, 2016, the Beta Chi Chapter of Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health at the University of Georgia’s College of Public Health inducted seven students, three alumni and one faculty member to its chapter.  Beginning in 2009, this new chapter is now 132 strong.

Dr. Kaye Bender was inducted as an honorary member. Dr. Bender is president and CEO of the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB), and serves on the National Board of Public Health Examiners; the STAR Technical Advisory Committee and the National Quality Forum Population Health Framework Committee.  She served local and state public health practice including 12 years as deputy Mississippi state health officer, and on three Institute of Medicine (IOM) study committees related to public health.  She was recently appointed to an IOM standing committee on credentialing research in nursing.

Beta Chi Chapter at the University of Georgia New Inductees

Dr. José Cordero was inducted as a faculty member.  Dr. Cordero is the Patel distinguished professor of public health, and chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics.  He previously served for 27 years in the US Public Health Service and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as assistant surgeon general of the Public Health Service, deputy director of the National Immunization Program and founding director of the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, He also served as dean of the School of Public Health in the University of Puerto Rico.

New officers were also elected during the business meeting.  New officers include: president, Dr. Jessica Muilenburg, associate professor and health promotion graduate coordinator, Georgia; vice-president, Ms. Nina Cleveland, MPH/DrPH practice coordinator, Georgia; and secretary/treasurer, Ms. Mumbi Okundaye, MPH program coordinator, Georgia.