ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Brown Faculty Member Earns GSA’s 2016 Robert W. Kleemeier Award

The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) — the nation’s largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging — has chosen Dr. Vincent Mor, of the Brown University School of Public Health as the 2016 recipient of the Robert W. Kleemeier Award.

[Photo: Dr. Vincent Mor]

This distinguished honor is given annually to a GSA member in recognition for outstanding research in the field of gerontology. It was established in 1965 in memory of Dr. Robert W. Kleemeier, a former president of the Society whose contributions to the quality of life through research in aging were exemplary. The award presentation will take place at GSA’s 2016 Annual Scientific Meeting, which will be held from November 16 to 20 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Mor is the Florence Pirce Grant University Professor of Public Health and Professor of Health Services, Policy, and Practice in the Brown University School of Public Health. He has conducted research on the quality, costs, and outcomes of care experienced by aged and chronically ill persons for nearly 40 years.

A special focus of Mor’s work has been on hospice and palliative care, including the National Hospice Study, which examined the effect of hospice care — at the time a new Medicare benefit — on the quality of life of patients and their families, and the health care costs incurred by patients. His current work includes a study of hospice and palliative care in the Veterans Health Administration.

He was one of the authors of the nursing home Resident Assessment Instrument Minimum Data Set (MDS) mandated by Congress, and pioneered its use as a source of data for aging research. The MDS has been used by a multitude of researchers and clinicians to measure and improve the quality of care provided to frail elderly nursing home residents. The MDS is also used in public reporting of nursing home quality, helping consumers make more informed choices.

Mor was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2015. In 2011, he earned the Distinguished Investigator Award from AcademyHealth, and in 2013, he was awarded the John Eisenberg Excellence in Mentoring Award from the Agency for Health Research and Quality as well as the Distinguished Researcher Award from the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization.

To read more: