ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia Dean Inducted as President of Association of American Physicians

On April 17, Dean Linda P. Fried, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, was inducted as the 2016-17 president of the Association of American Physicians (AAP), the elected society of the U.S.’s leading physician scientists. Dr. Fried, who is also DeLamar Professor of Public Health Practice, is the first dean of a School of Public Health to be president of AAP.

2016-04-16 22.21.38[2]
[Photo: Dean Linda Fried (center)]

Dean Fried has dedicated her career to the science of healthy aging and done seminal work in defining frailty as a medical condition. Dean Fried is also the designer and co-founder of Experience Corps, the program that puts senior volunteers to work in public schools in cities across the country. Acting as tutors and mentors, the older volunteers help boost students’ academic performance while bolstering their own health through continued activity and community interaction. Before becoming dean of the Mailman School in 2008, Dr. Fried founded the Johns Hopkins Center on Aging and Health, directed the Program in the Epidemiology and Biostatistics of Aging and the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, and held joint appointments in the schools of medicine, nursing, and public health.

With more than 1300 active members and 600 emeritus and honorary members, the Association of American Physicians was established 130 years ago by seven physicians including Drs. William Osler and William Henry Welch. Dr. Osler was one of the four founding professors of Johns Hopkins Hospital and creator of the first residency program for physicians. Dr. Welch was both the dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and then the first dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health.

“Dean Fried’s background in both public health and clinical medicine makes her a superb choice as the new chair of the prestigious Association of American Physicians,” said Harrison C. Spencer, MD, MPH, DTM&H, CPH, IPEC Board Chair and President and CEO, Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health.  “AAP’s membership is well positioned to provide leadership in the movement toward population health, helping creating a culture of wellness and addressing persistent issues leading to health disparities. Dean Fried is uniquely capable of leading AAP in these important efforts.”

Dean Fried is the recipient of the American Federation for Aging Research’s Irving Wright Award, the 2008 American Geriatrics Society Henderson Award, the Alliance for Aging Research’s inaugural 2011 “Silver Innovator Award,” their 2012 Silver Scholar Award, and Foundation IPSEN’s 2012 Longevity Prize, all in recognition of career contributions to aging research. In 2012, Dean Fried was profiled by The New York Times as one of 15 world leaders in science. Dean Fried is a member of the MacArthur Network on an Aging Society and the World Economic Forum’s Council on an Aging Society.