ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia Faculty Named to Leadership Positions at WHO’s Bioethics Collaborating Centers

Dr. Ronald Bayer, professor of sociomedical sciences at Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, was elected to a two-year term (2014 to 2016) to chair the World Health Organization’s Network of Bioethics Collaborating Centers, of which the Mailman School’s Center for the History and Ethics of Public Health is a member. Most recently, the Network worked with the World Health Organization (WHO) on the ethical challenges of HIV treatment prevention, tuberculosis control, and vaccination.

Most recently, the Columbia Center on the History and Ethics of Public Health helped to launch a WHO effort to draft the first ethical guidance on public health surveillance. Dr. Amy Fairchild, professor of sociomedical sciences, was appointed as one of two co-chairs of the World Health Organization’s working group charged with crafting “Guidelines on Ethical Issues in Public Health Surveillance”. She will guide the work of approximately 30 experts who represent more than a dozen high-, middle-, and low-income countries. Completion of this landmark document is anticipated at the end of 2015. Dr. Fairchild and Dr. Bayer are co-authors, with Dr. James Colgrove, of the book, “Searching Eyes: Privacy, the State and Disease Surveillance in America”.