ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia Professor Named to Leading Cancer Advisory Group

Dr. Dawn Hershman, Mailman School professor of epidemiology and professor of Medicine at Columbia University Medical Center, was selected as a Komen Scholar, an international advisory group to Susan G. Komen, the world’s leading breast cancer organization. The Scholars help guide Komen’s research and scientific programs, education, advocacy work, and public health efforts around the world. In addition to their knowledge and leadership within the scientific, research and advocacy communities, the Scholars are chosen for their own contributions to breast cancer research.

[Photo: Dr. Dawn Hershman]

Dr. Hershman, director of the Breast Cancer Program of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center since her appointment to the faculty in 2001, has developed nationally recognized expertise in breast cancer survivorship, late-effects of cancer therapy, health outcomes, health disparities research, and cancer clinical trials. She has several national leadership roles in oncology and received many prestigious awards including Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Ewig Award for Teaching Excellence, and the Advanced Medical Achievement Award from the Avon Foundation. She has received grants from the American Cancer Society, Department of Defense, The Susan G. Komen Foundation, the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, and the National Cancer Institute, as well as several clinical trials funded by the pharmaceutical industry. Dr. Hershman is involved in clinical trials research on a local and national level. She has a large clinical research program in breast cancer with collaboration linking clinical research, population based research and basic science research.

Dr. Hershman completed her internal medicine and oncology fellowship training at Columbia, where she served as chief resident while completing a Master’s degree in biostatistics at the Mailman School of Public Health.

The chief scientific advisors of Komen called the 2016 Scholars “a brilliant group of cancer researchers…the brightest, most creative and most hardworking individuals in the field today.”