ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Columbia Professor Receives C. Tracy Orleans Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Behavioral Medicine

Dr. Rachel Shelton,  assistant professor of sociomedical sciences at Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, has been selected for the C. Tracy Orleans Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Behavioral Medicine in recognition of her contributions serving as a member of the Society’s board of directors and as program chair for this year’s 39th Annual Conference held April 11-14 in New Orleans. The Society’s more than 2,300 members are researchers, clinicians, educators, and students who focus on behavior change across the lifespan and work in more than 40 specialty areas. This year’s conference theme focuses on “Extending Our Reach”, and will encourage attendees to venture outside of their academic and clinical comfort zones by connecting directly with industry partners, community organizations, government agencies, the media, and the general public.

[Photo: Dr. Rachel Shelton]

At the conference, Dr. Shelton will also receive the Society’s Early Career Mentor Award. A social and behavioral scientist, Dr. Shelton’s research focuses on: understanding aspects of social context to improve population health and address health disparities in the areas of cancer and obesity; and advancing understanding of the implementation and sustainability of lay health advisor programs in community settings.

Earlier this year, Dr. Shelton served as a co-editor of a special theme issue of the Society’s journal Health Education & Behavior on promoting health equity earlier this year.  The issue, “Advancing the Science of Qualitative Research to Promote Health Equity” showcased how qualitative research is being used to expand the health equity lens across a variety of public health issues such as cancer, HIV, HPV, condom use, childhood obesity, and school nutrition policy.

Read more about the annual meeting.
Learn more about the Society’s Early Career Mentor Award.