ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Dr. Julio Frenk to Receive Frank A. Calderone Prize from Columbia Mailman School of Public Health

Julio Frenk, MD, MPH, president of the University of Miami, will receive the Frank A. Calderone Prize from Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health at a ceremony on Wednesday, November 14th. The Calderone Prize, the most prestigious award in public health, is awarded every two years to an individual who has made a transformational contribution in the field, with selection by an international committee of public health leaders.

Frenk is a renowned scholar and leader in higher education and global health who is committed to promoting the role of universities to address global challenges. He became president of the University of Miami in 2015 and holds academic appointments as professor of Public Health Sciences at the Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine and professor of Health Sector Management and Policy at the School of Business Administration. Frenk previously served as dean of the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, and as Minister of Health of Mexico, he reformed the nation’s health system, introducing a program of comprehensive universal coverage, which expanded access to health care for more than 55 million previously uninsured Mexicans.

He is the founding Director-General of the National Institute of Public Health of Mexico and has held top positions at the World Health Organization and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, among others. Frenk serves on the boards of the United Nations Foundation and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

The Calderone Prize is named for Frank A. Calderone, who had a distinguished career in public health, leading him from the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene to important posts at the World Health Organization. Instrumental in shaping the WHO’s policies and structure, he also raised support for its continued operation. In 1986, the Calderone family established this prize to mark Frank Calderone’s lifelong commitment and recognize exceptional public health leaders. The Calderone Prize has been previously awarded to Mary Bassett, MD, MPH, New York City Commissioner of Health and Mental Hygiene; Peter Piot, MD, former Executive Director, UNAIDS, and Under Secretary-General, United Nations; Mary Robinson, MA, former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and former President of Ireland; and Nafis Sadik, MD, Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the UN and former Executive Director, United Nations Population Fund, among other public health luminaries.

At the award ceremony, Frenk will deliver an original lecture.

Watch the Livestream