Loading Events


Event Detail

Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education

ASPPH is pleased to support the Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education. This award, made possible by Dr. Richard and Mrs. Linda Riegelman, was established to encourage and recognize excellence in teaching of public health to undergraduate students.

This national award will recognize one full-time, undergraduate public health faculty at a university with a Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) accredited school of public health or a CEPH-accredited program of public health. The award supports faculty who have demonstrated exemplary efforts to start and sustain a new program, have collaborated both with community partners and other disciplines, and have garnered respect and enthusiasm from students.

The award will be presented at the fourth annual Summit on Undergraduate Education in Public Health in New Orleans, LA on Saturday, November 15.

The application deadline is 11:59 p.m. Pacific on Friday, July 25. Self-nominations are not accepted, however, nominees are welcomed and encouraged to assist nominators with the preparation of materials for the nomination packet.

Reviewers will consider evidence of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in the following areas:

  • Exemplary efforts to start and sustain a new program
  • Innovative teaching techniques using advanced technology
  • Relationships with practice partners in the community
  • Collaboration with other disciplines
  • Relationships with CEPH-accredited graduate schools or programs of public health
  • Teacher evaluations by students


Nominees must be full-time faculty from CEPH-accredited schools and programs of public health (click here to view eligible programs). The faculty member’s primary appointment must be in a CEPH- accredited School or Program. The awardee does not have to be faculty at an ASPPH-member institution, only CEPH-accreditation is required.