ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Florida Faculty Receives Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award

Ms. Jacqueline Maye, a doctoral student in the University of Florida College of Public Health and Health Professions’ department of clinical and health psychology, has received a Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award from the National Institute on Aging. The award will support Ms. Maye’s dissertation research on the effects of mindfulness meditation on attentional control in older adults.

Maye, Jacqueline

[Photo: Ms. Jacqueline Maye]

Ms. Maye’s study will examine changes in the ability of adults age 65 and older to control mood and attention over a 14-week period.  Each week, participants will receive brief, computer-administered tests of attention and mood. Half of the participants will also take part in eight weekly group sessions of mindfulness education and practice. The study will compare whether there are differences in the amount and pattern of change in attention and mood between participants who do and do not participate in the mindfulness groups.

Ms. Maye has also been selected to attend the Mind and Life Summer Research Institute, a week-long event designed to foster collaborative research in behavioral science, neuroscience, clinical science and the humanities.

Ms. Maye is mentored by Dr. Michael Marsiske, PhD an associate professor in the department of clinical and health psychology.