ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Florida International Professor Honored with Florida Campus Compact Engaged Scholarship Faculty Award

Florida Campus Compact, a network of college and university presidents and their institutions, has honored Dr. Cecile Houry with the Florida Campus Compact Engaged Scholarship Faculty Award. Dr. Houry is one of three recipients of the 2015 Engaged Scholarship Faculty Award, joined by Dr. Lindsey Smitherman-Brown of Tallahassee Community College and Dr. Sharon Carnahan of Rollins College.

[Photo: Dr. Cecile Houry]

As assistant dean of the Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work, Dr. Houry leads Continuing & Professional Education efforts for the college. Before joining the college in 2013, Dr. Houry’s work at FIU was focused on community partnerships. She was the assistant vice president in the Office of Engagement. She also worked for the Honors College where she developed a partnership with the city of Sweetwater as well as an upper-division community service-research seminar taking place in that city. Dr. Houry is still a faculty fellow in the Honors College and continues to teach that course.

Dr. Houry obtained her PhD from the University of Miami, and she has participated in several leadership programs, including the FIU Educational Leadership Enhancement Program, FIU Women on the Move Leadership Program, Leadership Miami and Connect Florida.

The Florida Campus Compact annual awards program highlights the exceptional contributions of Floridians committed to strengthening academic and civic engagement through campus-community. The Florida Campus Compact award winners are people who are in the trenches, forging sustainable campus-community partnerships that enhance the collegiate experience in order to help students become stronger and more active citizens.

Read more: