Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Georgia, Georgia State, and Emory Honored by ASTHO

Public health leaders with connections to Emory University, University of Georgia, and Georgia State University were among 15 Georgians honored by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) for their leadership and dedication to protecting and promoting the nation’s health.

[Photo: (left to right): Dr. Nelson, Dean Eriksen, Dr. Koplan, Dr. Foege, Dr. Monroe, ASTHO President Jay Butler, Dr. Fitzgerald, Dr. Ross, Dr. Sellers, Dean Williams, Dean Curran]

Honorees of the “Georgia’s Giants in Public Health” awards, part of ASTHO’s 75th anniversary celebration, represented Georgia-based government and non-governmental organizations, as well as private and public universities. Each was recognized for their work improving the lives and well-being of not just communities in Georgia, but across the nation and around the world.

[Photo: Dean James W. Curran]

Emory University recipients included Dean James W. Curran, Rollins School of Public Health; and Dr. Jeffrey P. Koplan, vice president for Global Health and director for the Global Health Institute. Dean Phillip L. Williams, University of Georgia College of Public Health, and Dean Michael P. Eriksen, Georgia State University School of Public Health, were also recognized.

[Photo: Dean Michael P. Eriksen]

The Georgia Giants in Public Health honorees were:

[Photo: Dean Phillip L. Williams]

The event acknowledged the important role that the state of Georgia and the City of Atlanta have played in advancing public health knowledge and training in the U.S. and around the globe. The CDC Foundation and Healthcare Georgia Foundation served as sponsors of the June 15 event, which was hosted by Emory University’s Rollins School of Public Health.

Read more:

Tags: , , , , ,