ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

GW Dean Inducted into Society of Scholars

Dr. Lynn R. Goldman, the Michael and Lori Milken Dean of George Washington University (GW) Milken Institute School of Public Health (Milken Institute SPH), joined the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars in April in honor of her distinguished career in public health.

Dean Goldman is one of 13 individuals selected to join the society in 2018.

[Photo: Dr. Lynn R. Goldman]

The Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, created in 1967, inducts former postdoctoral fellows, postdoctoral degree recipients, house staff, and junior or visiting faculty at Johns Hopkins University who’ve made significant contributions in their respective fields. Only 671 individuals have joined the organization.

Along with Dean Goldman, notable 2018 inductees include Dr. Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, the president of Afghanistan, and Dr. Sonja A. Rasmussen, deputy director for infectious diseases and director of the Office of Infectious Diseases at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).  The full list of inductees is available online.

Dean Goldman is a renowned epidemiologist, pediatrician and environmental health expert. Prior to joining the Milken Institute School of Public Health, she served as a professor of environmental health sciences at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Dean Goldman served as the assistant administrator for toxic substances in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and worked for the California Department of Public Health. She has served as Dean of Milken Institute SPH since August 2010.

Read more