ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Harvard Researchers Honored for Contributions to Environmental Epidemiology

Two Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health faculty members received awards at the twenty-eighth annual meeting of the International Society For Environmental Epidemiology (ISEE) held September 1-4 in Rome, Italy.

Dr. Philippe Grandjean, adjunct professor of environmental health in the department of environmental health, received the John F. Goldsmith Award for outstanding contributions to environmental epidemiology. The award is named after the late prominent epidemiologist John R. Goldsmith, who in the mid-1970s recommended newly fledged physician Dr. Philippe Grandjean to study the adverse effects of air pollution with lead. Dr. Douglas Dockery, John L. Loeb and Frances Lehman Loeb Professor of Environmental Epidemiology, is a previous recipient of the award.

Dr. Marc Weisskopf, associate professor of environmental and occupational epidemiology, was co-winner of the organization’s Tony McMichael Award. The award recognizes a mid-career scientist who has pursued innovative, independent research in environmental epidemiology. The award was presented by Australian National University, in memory of the late Tony McMichael who was director of the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health.

Read more: