ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Iowa Faculty Honored for National Leadership in Industrial Hygiene

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) has selected Dr. Renee Anthony, University of Iowa College of Public Health associate professor of occupational and environmental health, as the recipient of the 2015 Alice Hamilton Award. This national award recognizes “an outstanding woman who has made a definitive, lasting achievement in the field of occupational and environmental hygiene through public and community service, social reform, technological innovation or advancements in the scientific approach to the recognition, evaluation, and control of workplace hazards.” Recipients must have been engaged in the field of industrial hygiene and occupational health for at least 10 years.

Dr. Anthony began her career as an industrial hygienist in the pulp and paper industry from 1992 through 2000 and has been in academia since receiving her PhD in 2005. At the University of Iowa, she requires her occupational safety students to complete community-based projects that teach them to help local businesses develop safety and health interventions, incorporating outreach consultation and educational video development.

In addition, Dr. Anthony has contributed to the industrial hygiene and occupational health industry by editing the second edition of the Mathematical Models book and teaching professional development courses for the AIHA Exposure Assessment Strategies Committee and AIHA Aerosols Technology Committee. She has been an active volunteer on AIHA’s Student and Early Career Professionals Committee, and has served as a reviewer for three NIOSH Educational Research Center/Training Program evaluations.

The award will be presented on June 3 during the 2015 American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exposition (AIHce) in Salt Lake City, Utah.