ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Iowa Faculty Named 2016 Recipient of the Thompson Prize for Young Investigators

In recognition of his significant contributions to research literature in the field of health services, Dr. Brad Wright, assistant professor in the department of health management and policy, has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 John D. Thompson Prize for Young Investigators. The Prize will be presented during the Association of University Programs in Health Administration (AUPHA) Annual Meeting Award Luncheon on Friday, June 24 in Kansas City, MO.

[Photo: Dr. Brad Wright]

The Prize was established to honor John D. Thompson, a professor of health administration, who set standards in teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships, and health services research which are without peer. It is awarded to faculty from AUPHA members programs whose work, which may be in any of the several fields of disciplines, contributes to knowledge in health services.

Dr. Wright was nominated by Dr. Jonathan Oberlander, professor of social medicine and health policy & management School of Medicine and Gillings School of Global Public Health University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Dr Oberlander remarked, “his career has gotten off to a tremendous start thanks to his hard work and strong research and publication skills, and he has already made important contributions to the field, yet I firmly believe the best is yet to come.”

Dr. Wright earned a Masters in Health Policy from George Washington University before entering the PhD program in Health Policy & Management (with a concentration in health politics and policy) at the University of North Carolina School Of Public Health. After receiving his PhD from UNC-Chapel Hill in 2011, Dr. Wright went to Brown University as a postdoctoral fellow in Health Services Research at the Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research under the mentorship of Dr. Vince Mohr. In 2012, Dr. Wright  joined the faculty at the University of Iowa.

According to Dr. Oberlander, “Brad’s research to date has focused on underserved populations and their access to medical care, Medicare and Medicaid, and community health centers, which he studied for his dissertation. Brad’s work on community health centers is an exciting, innovative, theoretically rich, and methodologically sophisticated project that speaks to important issues in health policy and organizational theory”.

Upon receiving the news that he was the 2016 recipient of the Thompson Prize, Dr. Wright said “I am truly honored to be the 2016 recipient of AUPHA’s John D. Thompson Prize for Young Investigators. The field of health services research is perhaps more important today than it has ever been, and the work we do to inform policy and practice is instrumental  to ensuring access to affordable, high quality care for everyone.”