ASPPH logo


School & Program Updates

School & Program Updates

Iowa: Lavizzo-Mourey Named 2019 Hansen Leadership Award Recipient

Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, president emerita and former chief executive officer of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), has been selected as the recipient of the University of Iowa’s 2019 Richard and Barbara Hansen Leadership Award. Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey will visit the University of Iowa College of Public Health on Tuesday, Nov. 19 to meet with students and deliver a lecture, “Lessons Learned While Building a Culture of Health.”

Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey is a world-renowned expert in health policy and geriatric medicine. She served as RWJF president and CEO from 2003-2017 and, for 15 years before that, as a distinguished professor and administrator at the University of Pennsylvania.

She has returned to Penn as the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Population Health and Health Equity Professor with joint faculty appointments in the Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy in the Perelman School of Medicine, the Department of Health Care Management in the Wharton School, and the Department of Family and Community Health in the School of Nursing.

“We’re pleased to recognize Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey with this award, and are very much looking forward to her visit and lecture,” says Dr. Edith Parker, dean of the University of Iowa College of Public Health. “It will be a wonderful opportunity for our students to learn from such a distinguished guest and hear her speak about building a culture of health.”

More information

Tags: ,