ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Iowa: Pentella Honored with ABSA Award

ABSA International (ABSA): The Association for Biosafety and Biosecurity recently presented Dr. Mike Pentella with its Arnold G. Wedum Memorial Lecture Award. Dr. Pentella is the director of the Iowa State Hygienic Laboratory and clinical professor of epidemiology at the University of Iowa College of Public Health. The award recognized him for making “several contributions that have improved the practice of clinical microbiology and safety.”

Dr. Pentella received the award Nov. 15, 2019 at the 62nd Annual Biosafety and Biosecurity Conference in Birmingham, Ala., where he delivered the keynote lecture, “Biosafety in Clinical Laboratories.”

Dr. Pentella has served as chair of the Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL) Biosafety and Biosecurity Committee since 2015. The committee formed in response to the deficiencies noted in biosafety practices during the Ebola epidemic of 2014. During his lecture, Dr. Pentella said biosafety is critical to protecting laboratorians acquiring infections and prepared to respond to the needs of patients when an emerging infectious agent is suspected.

ABSA International was founded in 1984 to promote biosafety as a scientific discipline and serve the growing needs of biosafety professionals throughout the world.

Tags: ,