ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Iowa Professor Receives 2016 Regents Award for Excellence

Dr. Keith Mueller,PhD,  Gerhard Hartman Professor and head of the Department of Health Management and Policy at the University of Iowa College of Public Health, has been awarded a 2016 Iowa Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education.


[Photo: Dr. Keith Mueller]

The award is one of Iowa’s highest honors for faculty achievement. Mueller’s selection is a testament not only to his outstanding accomplishments in teaching, scholarship, professional commitment and service to the university, but also to his colleagues’ high regard for his contributions to our academic community.

Mueller is the director of the Rural Policy Research Institute (RUPRI) Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis.  He has worked diligently to place the research of the RUPRI Center on the national scope of health policy.  He has excelled in scholarly productivity by increasing funding for RUPRI, which in turn has created additional research opportunities for faculty, staff, and students.

Since joining the College of Public Health in 2010, Mueller has increased his activity in service to rural communities. He serves on the Board of the Iowa Rural Health Association and was their 2015 president. He also served as president of the National Rural Health Association and is a member of the National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services.