ASPPH logo




IPEC’s 10-Year Anniversary

Since ASPPH’s initial involvement in co-founding the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) in 2009, led by Dr. Harrison Spencer, ASPPH’s  prior CEO and president, the partnership has grown from the original six members to 22 in 2019. In celebrating IPEC’s 10-year anniversary this week, ASPPH continues to promote and foster interprofessional learning experiences, across the health and partner professions, for collaborative practice.

This event coincides with the retirement of three founding leaders, including Dr. Darrell Kirch (Association of American Medical Colleges), Dr. Steve Shannon (American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine), and Dr. Rick Valachovic (American Dental Education Association).  We thank them for their efforts over the past decade and look forward to working with the new leadership to carry the interprofessional charge forward.

Also this week, IPEC will host its sixth biannual member meeting, welcoming volunteer and professional leaders from IPEC’s member associations and several U.S. Public Health Service  (USPHS) colleagues, including Former Assistant Surgeon General & Retired Chief Pharmacist Officer Rear Admiral Pamela Schweitzer, and Commander Oluchi Elekwachi. Dr. Laura Magaña will represent ASPPH. For the first-time, the winners and honorable mention finalists of the USPHS IPEC Excellence in IPE Award will present their projects and findings.