ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

IU Bloomington Dean Honored with Hulman Health Achievement Award

In a recent ceremony in Indianapolis, Dr. Mohammad Torabi, founding dean of the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington, was honored with a Hulman Health Achievement Award, the premier awards within the Indiana public health community.

Over his 35 years as an educator, researcher, and administrator at Indiana University, Dr. Torabi has inspired colleagues, students, and members of the public health community with his dedication to public health scholarship, service, and advocacy.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed upon those who have made significant contributions to advancing the public’s health.

As Dr. Edwin Marshall, professor Emeritus of Public Health and Optometry at IU, states in his nomination letter, “I can think of no other person more deserving of such a prestigious honor than Dr. Mohammad Torabi… Perhaps Dr. Torabi’s greatest contribution as a public health advocate and innovator has been his inspiration and leadership in transitioning the IU School of Health, Physical Education and Recreation into the IU School of Public Health-Bloomington.”

Adds IU Provost Lauren Robel, “Dean Torabi’s adept leadership at the Indiana University School of Public Health-Bloomington and its re-imagining of public health for the 21st century has contributed greatly to broadening and defining the vision for his entire field.”

Dean Torabi focuses his research on the measurement and evaluation of public and school health education programs, adolescent health, health promotion, and risk behavior. He’s been published in national and international journals, and is a recipient of the Distinguished Fellow Award from the Society for Public Health Education, the highest award presented by this prestigious organization. Torabi received a Master of Public Health degree from Indiana University, and Ph.D. from Purdue University.

“It’s an honor for me to have been nominated, and selected for the prestigious Tony and Mary Hulman Lifetime Achievement Award,” Dean Torabi says. “I am grateful to all those involved, and especially to my mentor Dr. Edwin Marshall and the Indiana Public Health Association Executive Director Jerry King.”