ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

IU Bloomington: Dr. Mayo-Wilson Receives $238,975 Grant From the Arnold Foundation

Dr. Evan Mayo-Wilson, an associate professor at the Indiana University School of Public Health – Bloomington, and Dr. Sean Grant, an assistant professor at the Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health – Indianapolis, have received a $238,975 research grant from the Laura and John Arnold Foundation. The grant will be used to improve research that informs health and social policy.

Scientific journal articles are essential sources for social policy. Currently, most social intervention research does not adhere to guidelines for research transparency. Dr. Mayo-Wilson and Dr. Grant anticipate that increasing journal transparency and openness will lead to more credible and useful evidence to inform public policy.

Specifically, Drs. Mayo-Wilson and Grant aim to improve implementation in journal policies, procedures, and practices that facilitate transparent and open social intervention research. To do so, they will assess the extent to which these journals follow best practices, provide feedback to journals about how they compare to peer journals, and collect information from editors on barriers to and facilitators of greater transparency and openness.

According to Dr. Mayo-Wilson and Dr. Grant, this project will serve as a model for scaling-up the implementation of the guidelines for research transparency in other disciplines that inform efforts to strengthen social, governmental, and economic systems.

Tags: ,