ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

IU Bloomington: Researchers Receive Award for Significant Contribution to Industrial Hygiene

The American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) has awarded the 2018 Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award to a team which includes Dr. Shawn Gibbs and Ms. Aurora Le at the Indiana University School of Public Health – Bloomington, both in the department of environmental and occupational health.

The AIHA honors individuals who provide significant contributions to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety profession. The Edward J. Baier award is given for the most significant contributions to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, innovations, or scientific advancements.

Other team members include Dr. Elizabeth L. Beam, Ms. Jocelyn Herstein, Ms. Katelyn Jelden, and Dr. John-Martin J. Lowe, all at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

Founded in 1939, the American Industrial Hygiene Association is the premier association of occupational and environmental health and safety professionals. AIHA’s 8,500 members play a crucial role on the front line of worker health and safety every day. Members represent a cross-section of industry, private business, labor, government and academia. AIHA’s annual conference (AIHce EXP) is the premier event for Industrial Hygiene and Occupational and Environmental Health and Safety (OEHS) professionals to learn the latest education and outcomes pertaining to worker health and safety.