ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins: Bloomberg School Faculty Recipient of Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Dr. Darrell Gaskin, William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, is a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. The award is the highest honor presented by the U.S. government to scientists who demonstrate leadership in research, science, and technology.

Since 1996, the award has been given to scientists, engineers, and others whose leadership and research provide outstanding contributions to science, technology, education, and mathematics. The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy coordinates the award with participating departments and agencies. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) nominated Dr. Gaskin for this award.

Dr. Gaskin works to promote policies and practices that improve access to care and quality of care that focus on reducing racial and economic disparities in health care. He is director of the Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions. His research primarily focuses on hospital quality disparities, access to health care for minority, low-income, uninsured and other vulnerable populations, as well as evaluating strategies to address cardiovascular disease risk factors. His research has helped in identifying and understanding the impacts of geographical place and contextual factors on disparities and has encouraged policymakers to support community-level interventions to address them.

Read more.

Tags: ,