ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins Dean and Faculty Member Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Ellen J. MacKenzie, dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health and a Bloomberg Distinguished professor, and Dr. Xiaobin Wang, professor in the Bloomberg School’s department of population, family and reproductive health, have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), along with 75 new regular members and 10 international members. NAM announced the new electees during its annual meeting Oct. 15.

[Photo: Dr. Ellen J. MacKenzie (leftt) and Dr. Xiaobin Wang]

Dean MacKenzie is a trauma care expert whose research focuses on the impact of public health services and policies on short- and long-term consequences of traumatic injury. A Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, she founded and leads the Major Extremity Trauma Research Consortium, a collaboration of more than 50 U.S. trauma centers and military treatment facilities. A former director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, in the department of health policy management, Dr. MacKenzie has shaped the field of trauma services and outcomes research.

Dr. Wang is Zanvyl Krieger Professor in children’s health and director of the Center on Early Life Origins of Disease. Her research unites biomarkers, clinical medicine, epidemiology and disease prevention. Her work has contributed to the understanding of environmental exposures, genetic susceptibility and gene-environment interactions in complex human diseases; and early life origins of chronic diseases.

Membership in the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service.

Read more: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School Announcement