ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Johns Hopkins Professor Receives 2018 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship from Harvard Chan School of Public Health

Dr. Elizabeth A. Stuart,  associate dean for education and a professor in the department of biostatistics at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, has received the 2018 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship from the Harvard Chan School of Public Health. The lectureship is awarded to promising statisticians who have made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or who have shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. The lectureship was established in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and Harvard graduate.

Dr. Stuart, who has joint appointments in the Bloomberg School’s departments of mental health and health policy and management, is an elected fellow of the American Statistical Association and a recipient of the American Association Health Policy Statistics Mid-Career Award. At the Bloomberg School, she received the Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Dr. Stuart’s research interests include mental health, policy evaluation, biostatics, causal inference and generalizability of results from randomized trials to target populations.

The lecture is presented to a general scientific audience as the first department colloquium of each academic year. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1000.

Read more