ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Kentucky Faculty Selected for National Leadership Program

Dr. Kathryn Cardarelli and Dr. Nancy Schoenberg of the University of Kentucky have been named to the 2016-2017 class of fellows for the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program at Drexel University College of Medicine. Dr. Cardarelli is the associate dean of academic and student affairs and an associate professor of health behavior in the UK College of Public Health, and Dr. Schoenberg is the associate dean for research in the College of Public Health and the Marion Pearsall Professor in the department of behavioral science in the UK College of Medicine.

Drs. Cardarelli and Schoenberg are among 54 women chosen nationwide for participation in the 22nd class for ELAM, the only program in North America dedicated to preparing women for senior leadership roles in academic health science institutions. ELAM Fellows enhance institutional leadership diversity while contributing to organizational strategy and innovation. The one-year, part-time program combines three week-long in-residence sessions with distance learning, designed to take the leadership lessons gained from the classroom to practice in the Fellows’ institutions.

Each Fellow is supported by the dean or other senior official of her institution in her nomination for the program and continued mentorship.

Upon completion of the one-year Fellowship in April 2017, the 54 members of this class will join a community of over 1,000 alumnae – all highly accomplished women serving in a variety of leadership positions around the world, including department chairs, research center directors, deans and college presidents, as well as chief executives in health care and accrediting organizations.

The work for this incoming class begins in June with online assignments and community building activities that continue through the end of the program in April 2017. Fellows begin the first of three week-long, in-residence sessions when they meet for the first time in Lafayette Hill, PA, on September 17.