ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

LSU Health Science Center Team Recipients of the 2018 ACP Quality Connect Champion Award

The LSU Health Science Center Team, composed of members from both the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Public Health and the Healthcare Services Division, received the 2018 American College of Physicians (ACP) Quality Connect: Champion Award. The programs of ACP’s Quality Connect provide awards to participants who have made significant achievements in healthcare quality improvement during the past year.  The LSU Health Science Center Team is being recognized for their collaborative efforts with “I Raise the Rates”, an Initiative to Raise the Adult Immunization Rates in Primary Care. The ACP Quality Connect program is a collaborative, data-driven campaign to support patients, physicians, health care teams, systems, and communities in raising adult immunization rates and reducing vaccine preventable diseases. The program seeks to assist internists and other primary care providers in both understanding the immunization rates of their patients and making practice changes that promote immunizations.

[Photo: LSU Health Science Center Team]

Members of the  LSU Health Science Center Team from the School of Public Health include Dr. Susanne Straif-Bourgeois, faculty in epidemiology, Dr. Yu-Wen Chiu, faculty in health policy & systems management, Dr. Randi Kaufman, faculty in health policy & systems management, Dr. Richard Culbertson, faculty and director of health policy & systems management, Mr. Michael Celestin, faculty in behavioral & community health sciences, Mr. Patrick Maloney, PhD student in epidemiology, Ms. Candice Schwartzenburg, MD/MPH student in health policy & systems management and Mr. Nikka Y. Khorsandi, MD/MPH student in health policy & systems management. From LSU Healthcare Service Division the team includes Dr. John Couk, Ms. Diane Angelico, Mr. Nathan Daigrepont, Ms. Lisa Winslow and Ms. Heidi Cheramie.