ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Michigan Faculty to Receive American College of Preventive Medicine’s Davis Award

Dr. Matthew L. Boulton, whose many responsibilities include editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Preventive Medicine, is the 2016 recipient of the American College of Preventive Medicine’s Ronald Davis Special Recognition Award. Named for the late Ronald M. Davis, a former member of the University of Michigan School of Public Health faculty and former president of the American Medical Association, the award recognizes outstanding achievement in or contribution to the field of preventive medicine. Previous recipients of the award include former U.S. Surgeon Generals Drs. David Satcher and C. Everett Koop, and William Foege, first recipient of Michigan’s Thomas Francis Jr. Medal in Global Public Health.

Dr. Matthew L. Boulton

[Photo: Dr. Matthew L. Boulton]

Dr. Boulton is senior associate dean for global public health at Michigan and holds academic appointments as professor of epidemiology, professor of health management & policy, and professor of preventive medicine.  He is also professor of internal medicine, infectious disease division, Michigan’s  medical school.  Dr. Boulton also serves as associate director of Michigan’s based behavioral health workforce research center.