ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

Michigan Receives First Place in NAHSE 2015 Everett V. Fox Student Case Competition

University of Michigan SPH students Ms. Linda Bi, Ms. Jennifer Dingle and Mr. Jonathan Waller received first place at the 2015 National Association of Health Services Executives (NAHSE) Annual Education Conference Everett V. Fox Student Case Competition, held October 13-16, 2015 in New Orleans, LA.  The three-member student team from Michigan’s department of health management and policy competed against 25 other teams to win the first place title in this year’s competition.

“Faculty and alumni put realistic expectations on us, and they helped to push us, to have confidence,” said Mr. Jonathan Waller who served as team captain.  “But it was really all about the team, trusting each of our teammates.  We listened to feedback and digested it, and made the changes we needed to make in order to be successful.”

“I personally learned that when you’re building a case, you need to have the data to back it up,” said teammate Ms. Jennifer Dingle.

Ms. Linda Bi agreed: “We were very much a team and we boosted one another.  We had strengths in different areas and we knew how to work together.”

The competition is a scholarship program that utilizes the case study methodology of teaching to provide graduate students with an educational experience that enhances their problem analysis and presentation skills, while exposing them to real-life health services administration issues.

Established in 1996, this is the fourth time a University of Michigan team has earned the first place spot in the competition.

“We put in so much time and effort,” said Ms. Dingle.  And when we were announced as the first place winners, the Michigan alumni who were present rushed to the front of the room and in a group hug, we sang, ‘Hail to the Victors.’  We were so proud to be Michigan, and will carry that memory with us.”

In addition to a plaque, each first-place team member receives a scholarship award.

For more information about the NAHSE competition, click here.