ASPPH logo




NBPHE Board of Directors– New Members

Washington, DC: The National Board of Public Health Examiners (NBPHE) announced several new members to its board of directors as of October 1, 2020.  

The new board members are:  

David Buys, PhD, MSPH, CPH, State Health Specialist and Associate Professor at Mississippi State University 

Lori Trammel Freeman, MBA, Chief Executive Officer at National Association of County and City Officials (NACCHO) 

Paul Kuehnert, DNP, RN, FAANPresident and CEO of Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) 

In addition, Kaye Bender, PhD, RN, FAAN, Executive Director, Mississippi Public Health Association, has been elected as NBPHE chair-elect and John McElligott, MPH, CPH, Executive Director, Maricopa County Medical Society, has been elected as chair of the NBPHE governance committee. 

“We are honored to be working with these individuals as they help NBPHE to professionalize public health by credentialing public health leaders,” said Rick Kurz, Dean Emeritus, University of North Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health, chair of the NBPHE Board of Directors. “They bring experience and perspectives to our organization that will ensure the Certified in Public Health credential continues to evolve and grow to meet the needs of the public health workforce.  

Learn more about the NBPHE Board of Directors on the NBPHE website.  

About NBPHE: NBPHE is an independent certification organization established to ensure that public health professionals have mastered the foundational knowledge and skills relevant to contemporary public health. To date, over 10,000 public health professionals have taken the CPH exam.