ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

North Texas Research Administrator Honored with National Distinguished Service Award

Ms. Robyn Remotigue, has spent more than 20 years in the field of research administration, using her background, talents and enthusiasm since 2013 to develop the Office of Research Services for the University of North Texas Health Science Center School of Public Health (UNTHSC – SPH).

[Photo: Ms. Robyn Remotigue]

This summer she is being honored for her dedication to the field with a prestigious distinguished service award from the National Council of University Research Administrators (NCURA).

Ms. Remotigue, who serves as director of research services for the UNTHSC School of Public Health, has been named as the 2018 NCURA Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award winner, recognizing her “sustained and distinctive contributions to NCURA that have, in turn, had a positive effect on the entire research community,” said NCURA president Ms. Georgette Sakumoto.

The award will be presented in August at the organization’s 60th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Each year, no more than five research administrators across the United States are selected for this honor, from among NCURA’s more than 7,000 members.

Ms. Remotigue has been a member of NCURA for 16 years, having served on the organization’s faculty for Level II Critical Issues in Research Administration traveling workshops, as a member of the NCURA Education Scholarship Fund Select Committee, and currently as co-chair for this year’s NCURA annual meeting.

Since joining UNTHSC, she has worked across the university with faculty and leadership to build an infrastructure within the School of Public Health supporting and guiding compliance and funding initiatives, research collaborations, and grant proposal submissions and administration.

One success of the program has been creation of The WriteStuff, a series of bi-weekly sessions for non-tenured and tenure track faculty to present on grant proposals currently in development, to gain constructive peer feedback from the group.

The WriteStuff has been instrumental in encouraging collaboration among the faculty, providing a venue for sharing new ideas and boosting the number of proposal submissions,” said Dr. Dennis Thombs, dean of the School of Public Health. “This is important to the university’s research program and our efforts to advance public health solutions.”

“Our school congratulates Robyn on this year’s NCURA distinguished service award, reflecting her leadership and visionary approach to the field of research administration and UNTHSC public health research,” he said.