ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Northwestern Faculty Receives AHA Mentoring Award

Dr. Jeremiah Stamler, founding chair and professor emeritus of preventive medicine-epidemiology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, was named the 2014 recipient of the American Heart Association’s Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award. He devoted his professional career to researching the cause and prevention of cardiovascular disease.

“It’s a great pleasure for me to receive the AHA award,” said Dr. Stamler. “Within a decade’s work since a few of us began the effort to prevent the major adult cardiovascular diseases – hypertension, heart failure, stroke, etc. – a cadre has been created nationally and worldwide, enabling this effort to go forward. Mentoring of younger colleagues is critical for our future to be in good hands. This is a matter of great satisfaction for me.”

The American Heart Association will present the award, one of its highest honors, at the AHA Scientific Sessions’ Opening Plenary in Chicago in November. The award recognizes an individual whose academic career includes a long-term record of successful mentoring of promising young academicians.

“I truly cannot think of anyone more deserving for this honor than Jerry, who, at the age of 94 years, remains incredibly active in the pursuit of mentoring and the discovery of new knowledge, and is truly one of my heroes,” said Dr. Donald M. Lloyd-Jones, chair of preventive medicine. “For Jerry, mentoring is not just something one does in addition to science; it is an integral part of the collaborative discovery process.”

Dr. Stamler joined Northwestern in 1958 as an assistant professor in the department of medicine. He became the first chair of the newly created department of community health and preventive medicine in 1972, a position he held for 16 years. Dr. Stamler, who developed the school’s Master of Public Health program, was the distinguished Dingman professor of cardiology at the medical school from 1973 to 1990.