ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Rutgers: Dean Honored with Diversity Award

Rutgers School of Public Health dean, Dr. Perry N. Halkitis, has been selected by the Rutgers Committee to Advance Our Common Purposes (CACP) to be the recipient of the 2019-2020 Leaders in Faculty Diversity Award.

CACP was founded in 1987 to recognize university-wide excellence in diversity and inclusion. The Leaders in Faculty Diversity Award is administered by CACP to honor faculty members who are leaders in promoting diversity, inclusion, equity, and access at Rutgers University, either through their own academic research, teaching, or community engagement research.

Dr. Halkitis was nominated by Dr. Brian Strom, Chancellor of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences.

“Diversity requires our attention 24-hours a day, 7 days a week, and cannot be an afterthought” said Dr. Halkitis. “At the Rutgers School of Public Health, we embody this thinking as we seek to create equitable pathways for underrepresented people in academia so that they become the leaders of tomorrow.”

The award will be presented to Dr. Halkitis at a CACP awards ceremony and reception in April. Honorees of the Clement A. Price Human Dignity Award and Special Achievement Award will also be recognized at the reception.

Tags: ,