ASPPH logo




SOPHAS Recruitment Advisory Council Transitions at APHA 2018

At the 2018 APHA Annual Meeting the SOPHAS Recruitment Advisory Council (SRAC) will transition the three chair positions during the business meeting on Wednesday, November 14. The chair position currently held by Dr. Mary Ann Smith (assistant professor in epidemiology, human genetics & environmental sciences, and assistant dean of students), University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston School of Public Health  will be transitioned to Ms. Sue Barrosse (director of admissions), Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine.

In this chair position Ms. Barrosse will uphold the mission of SRAC, serving to act as a mentor for other international SOPHAS schools, including St. George’s University of Grenada and National Taiwan University in Taiwan, in addition to being a leader in best recruitment strategies for all ASPPH members. The transition to chair counts as Ms. Barrosse’s third year as a member of SRAC, as she was peer-elected to the chair-elect position in 2016. She will serve as chair for two years followed by one-year as immediate past chair. Her positive energy, leadership and years of expertise with SOPHAS is an overall asset to ASPPH. Please join us in wishing her much success in her role as chair of the SRAC committee for ASPPH 2018-2020.

The chair-elect position will be succeeded by Mr. Johnston King, enrollment management coordinator, at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health. Mr. King has been an active member in the SOPHAS and recruitment communities at ASPPH prior to being elected to this position. He has previously hosted ASPPH Presents webinars and presented at national conferences including the ASPPH Annual Meeting.

ASPPH is proud to welcome Mr. King to this new role and excited to see the skill and perspective on enrollment management that he brings to the Advisory Committee.

Dr. Smith will transition to the immediate past-chair position currently held by Dr. Kara Robinson, associate dean of admissions and student services, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health.