ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

South Carolina Faculty Named Outstanding Young Investigator Award from SOT

For more than 50 years, the Society of Toxicology has been recognized as the leading organization in the longstanding yet growing field of toxicology. The Society connects thousands of scientists across academia, private industries and government agencies through its professional and scholarly pursuits. This internationally recognized authority also presents competitive awards annually to a select group of promising professionals who exhibit superior leadership and productivity in the field. Dr. Saurabh Chatterjee, assistant professor of environmental health sciences at the University of South Carolina’s Arnold School of Public Health, is the 2015 recipient of the Society’s Immunotoxicology Specialty Section Outstanding Young Investigator Award — one of the most prestigious awards that a researcher can receive during the early part of a career in immunotoxicology (i.e., within 10 years of completing a doctoral degree).

Itss award photo_Chatterjeejpg
[Photo: Ms. Danuta Herzyk, president of the Immunotoxicology Specialty Section, presents the award to Dr. Saurabh Chatterjee]

He began his scientific career in India after completing a masters’ degree in the field of immunology — what he considers to be his lifelong passion. Dr. Chatterjee’s first position as an immunologist was with an environmental health and medicine research institute, the Bhabha Atomic Research Center — an institute under the aegis of the Department of Atomic Energy. The Center is where he first investigated the effects of the environment on the immune system, “an important topic for a developing country like India,” he says. Beginning with this initial research, Dr. Chatterjee began his ultimate career path of marrying immunology and toxicology.