ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

SUNY Albany: Delta Omega’s Alpha Gamma Chapter Inducts New Members

The University at Albany School of Public Health’s Alpha Gamma chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health recently inducted 19 new members as outstanding representatives of public health practice.

Graduating students inducted into Alpha Gamma were selected based on their academic rank in the graduating class and their accomplishments during their training.  The new student members include Master of Public Health students Mr. Keith Brown, Ms. Marybeth Ingle, Ms. Michelle Wemette, Ms. Eleni Papadopoulos, Ms. Amanda Long Tarrier and Ms. Rachel Vancavage, Master of Science student Ms. Eva Williford, Doctor of Public Health student Ms. Sana Savadatti, and PhD student Ms. Kirsten Siegenthaler.

The chapter’s Honorary member, conferred upon persons possessing exceptional qualifications who have attained meritorious distinction in the field of public health, was Ms. Ellen Anderson, deputy director for the Office of Public Health in the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH). Ms. Anderson manages over $2 billion in funding for community health, environmental health, public health laboratories, emergency preparedness and local public health programs. Her extensive career includes contributions to policy development, program management, grants development and the use of data to improve public health programs.

Two new faculty member inductees, in recognition of outstanding academic leadership, teaching, research, and public health practice, were Emily Leckman-Westin, a research scientist at the New York State Office of Mental Health and assistant professor of epidemiology at the School of Public Health and Dr. Elizabeth Vasquez, assistant professor in the department of epidemiology and biostatistics. The chapter’s new alumni members, inducted to recognize their work in the practice of public health serving as a model for future graduates of the school, included Dr. Marie Allsopp, Dr. Veronica Fitzpatrick, Mr. Peatros Haile, Dr. Victoria Lazariu, Mr. Daniel Malashock, Mr. Scott Momrow, and Dr. Carol-Ann Swain.