ASPPH Academic Public Health Practice Excellence Award

This annual award recognizes graduate public health faculty who advance and integrate the scholarship of practice-based service, teaching and research for public health.

Criteria for award

Nominations should include a description of the nominee’s outstanding contributions in:

  • Practice-based research;
  • Practice-based service;
  • Practice-based teaching; and
  • Academic-practice linkages including engagement of students in public health practice (e.g., community projects, internships, and practica).


Nominees must be full-time faculty from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. View the list of ASPPH-member institutions. The faculty member must have

  • A primary appointment in an ASPPH-member school or program of public health; and
  • Been employed in a CEPH-accredited school or program of public health for a minimum of five years (not required to be at the same institution for all five years).

Nomination Process

All nominations must contain the following materials:

  • Nominee and nominator contact information;
  • Overview statement of nominee’s contributions to academic public health practice (limit 5,000 characters);
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae; and
  • Two additional letters of support.

Award Details

  • $1,000 Cash Prize
  • Free Registration for ASPPH Annual Meeting
  • Recognition at the Awards Ceremony
  • One night accommodations at the host hotel
  • Travel Stipend

Application Dates

The nomination period for the 2020 cycle has closed.