ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award

The ASPPH Teaching Excellence Award recognizes faculty who are outstanding in teaching and mentoring students toward distinction in public health research, teaching, and practice. The award is given annually to a full-time faculty member from an ASPPH-member, CEPH-accredited school or program of public health.

2021 Winner

Michael Kramer, PhD

Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Dr. Kramer is an associated professor of epidemiology at the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University in Atlanta. His teaching and research interests center on the intersections of social epidemiology, maternal and child health, and the use of geospatial methods to conceptualize and characterize place-based macrosocial and structural determinants of population health. He has developed and taught several innovative courses at Emory including Advanced Methods in Social Epidemiology, Methods in Spatial Epidemiology, and Epidemiologic Methods IV, each with a strong emphasis on student centered and engaged learning through mixed instructional strategies. He has also taught Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology, Foundations in Maternal and Child Health, and Introduction to Social Epidemiology. Dr. Kramer has won numerous teaching and mentoring awards including the Laney Graduate School Provost’s Distinguished Teaching Award in Graduate Education, the Lacey Academic Leadership Award from the Association for teachers of Maternal and Child Health, and the student-selected Crystal Apple award for excellence in graduate education.

Dr. Kramer is committed to mentoring and training outside of the classroom. He has served for years on the Epidemiology PhD Program committee, and is the program director for the HRSA-funded Maternal and Child Health Center of Excellence, a training program for MPH and PhD trainees focused on building the MCH work force. He has mentored over 70 MPH theses, and sat on over 40 doctoral dissertation committees across multiple disciplines, serving as chair or co-chair for 13. He is actively engaged in mentoring post-doctoral trainees and early career faculty.

Dr. Kramer also regularly conducts skills training workshops for applied public health professionals at CDC and HRSA including short courses in spatial methods and multilevel modeling, as well as training for state and local epidemiologists through the HRSA MCH Bureau webinar series, and the Summer MCH Epidemiology training course. Across these endeavors, Dr. Kramer has been recognized by students and colleagues as a passionate and effective communicator, and as someone who can build connections between the methodologic tools of public health and the social and practical implications of our work.