ASPPH logo


Riegelman Award for Excellence

The Riegelman Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Public Health Education recognizes faculty who have made exemplary efforts to start or sustain an undergraduate program, collaborated with community partners and other disciplines, and garnered respect and enthusiasm from students. Named for Dr. Richard and Mrs. Linda Riegelman, the award was established to encourage and recognize excellence in teaching public health to undergraduate students.

2021 Winner

Gloria T. DiFulvio, PhD, MPH, MEd

University of Massachusetts-Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences

Dr. DiFulvio is a Senior Lecturer in the Health Promotion and Policy Department and Undergraduate Program Director for the Public Health Sciences Program at the University of Massachusetts Amherst School of Public Health and Health Sciences (SPHHS). In SPHHS, Dr. DiFulvio has directed the Undergraduate Public Health Sciences (PHS) program since 2011 and has managed the program’s nearly 200% growth in a ten-year period. During this time, she led the realignment of the curriculum to meet the CEPH accreditation standards including a redesign of the introduction to public health course and capstone experience for PHS majors. With an eye toward creating inclusive high-impact educational opportunities, she established two semester-long Faculty-led PHS Study Abroad Programs designed to increase participation by minoritized and first-generation students. The first, in Cuba, launched in Spring 2019 and the second will take place in Croatia in Fall 2022.

Dr. DiFulvio has a strong commitment to diversity and inclusion. She serves on the Dean’s Anti-Racism Task Force charged with addressing systemic racism in the classroom, in admissions processes, and in faculty and staff hiring within SPHHS. In 2020, she was selected to participate in the University’s Teaching for Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity (TIDE) Ambassador Program. TIDE brings faculty from many disciplines together to discover and adopt equitable teaching strategies to improve academic success. As a TIDE Ambassador, Dr. DiFulvio led a team of SPHHS faculty to successfully compete for a Mutual Mentoring Grant offered by the University’s Office of Faculty Development. The grant, Towards Anti-Racist Pedagogies: Cross-disciplinary Teaching Support in SPHHS, engages faculty across six departments to deepen anti-racist teaching practices.

As a scholar and community engaged researcher, for the past thirteen years Dr. DiFulvio has partnered with the Massachusetts Department of Public Health on statewide suicide prevention efforts. Currently, she is working on a CDC funded project to expand and evaluate suicide prevention efforts for Latinx communities and Veterans in Massachusetts.

Nationally, Dr. DiFulvio is recognized as a leader in public health education, presenting and publishing in the field. In 2016, she was inducted into the National Honor Society of Public Health, Delta Omega.