Welch-Rose Award

The ASPPH Welch-Rose Award for Distinguished Service to Academic Public Health is awarded annually to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the academic public health community. The Welch-Rose Award recognizes the highest standards in academic public health and honors individuals who have made a lasting impact on academic public health. The award also honors Drs. Wickliffe Rose and William Henry Welch whose seminal 1915 report continues to serve as a central reference point for the design of academic public health.



Any individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to academic public health is eligible for nomination. The nominee does not necessarily need to be a current or past faculty member of a CEPH-accredited school or program. Current ASPPH deans and primary representatives will not be considered.

Nomination Process

Nominations can be made by any faculty or staff member of a CEPH-accredited school or program of public health. The Award Selection Committee may also solicit nominations. All nominations must contain the following materials:

  • Nominee and nominator contact information;
  • Letter of support identifying the extraordinary contributions to the academic public health community of the nominee (up to 1000 words); and
  • Optional: nominee’s curriculum vitae and up to two additional letters of support.

Application Dates

Nominations for 2019 will be accepted beginning in late summer 2018.