ASPPH logo




Texas A&M: APHA Highlights

The Texas A&M School of Public Health’s booth received 3rd place in the schools & programs category. Two student ambassadors – Mr. Juha Baek and Ms. Alyssa McNulty – were selected from a highly competitive pool of applicants to participate in student assembly activities.

Ms. Hannah Hoffman was honored as a Delta Omega research poster winner. Of the three Delta Omega 2019 Innovative Curriculum Awards presented, one was awarded to Assistant Professor Dr. Itza Mendoza-Sanchez and another to alum and former Alumni Advisory Board member Dr. Cara Pennel.

Researchers from the school’s Southwest Rural Health Research Center, the Center for Population Health and Aging, the Center for Health Organization Transformation, and the Center for Community Health Development had many poster and oral presentations. Several other faculty had presentations including Dr. Tiffany Radcliff on “Ambulatory Care Resilience and Recovery at the U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs-Repeated Events Analysis after Hurricane Ike & Harvey.”

Drs. Eric Wilson & Lisako McKyer presented at the CEPH Education Forum on the rationale for & setup of the Scholar Tracker tool/setting up customs systems to track defined measures and holistic approaches to diversity, cultural competence & inclusion respectively. ASPPH Career Services Assembly co-chair, Ms. Jessica Newcomb, planned the business meeting featuring Public Health Foundation & the de Beaumont Foundation to explore governmental public health workforce needs. ASPPH Student Services Forum Chair Ms. Erin Schneider facilitated ASPPH’s Student Leadership Institute along with the incoming &past chairs. Ms. Lisa Strauss was our TAMSPH student representative.

We also hosted an alumni reception at the Union League of Philadelphia. Enjoy pictures from this event and other photo highlights of APHA.

Tags: ,