ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Tulane Professor to be Honored with Common Good Award

Dr. Donald Krogstad, professor of tropical medicine at the Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, has been selected by the Bowdoin College Board of Trustees to receive one of two 2015 Common Good Awards. Dr. Krogstad is a 1965 alumnus of Bowdoin College, where he graduated magna cum laude with highest honors in biology. As a physician and researcher, he has devoted his life to finding ways to contain and fight malaria.


Established in 1994, the Common Good Award honors Bowdoin alumni who have demonstrated an extraordinary, profound, and sustained commitment to the common good, in the interest of society, with conspicuous disregard for personal gain in wealth or status.

Dr. Krogstad has been on the faculty at Tulane SPHTM since 1992 and has served as chair of the department of tropical medicine, the William Henderson Professor of Tropical Medicine, and as director of the Tulane Center for Infectious Diseases. In 2009, he was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to spend a year in Mali to conduct studies of the anti-malarial drug he developed.