ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UGA: DeJoy Earns Lifetime Award for Contributions Workplace Health

University of Georgia professor emeritus Dr. David M. DeJoy was honored with the Lifetime Career Achievement Award by the American Psychological Association at the 2019 Work, Stress and Health conference in Philadelphia on November 7.

The award honors researchers and practitioners whose careers are characterized by a series of distinguished contributions that have significantly advanced the field of occupational health psychology.

Nationally and internationally known for his expertise in safety climate, Dr. DeJoy’s research laid the groundwork for the integration of behavioral sciences and occupational health to promote worker health and safety.

“Dr. DeJoy’s pioneering work established a legacy of innovation and collaboration that redefined our ideas of worker health and continue to resonate today. His contributions to the field of workplace health are significant,” said Dr. Marsha Davis, dean of the University of Georgia College of Public Health.

Dr. DeJoy has served on national scientific panels organized by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and Institute of Medicine, as well as private foundations, and he currently chairs the Council on Healthy Work Design and Well-being.

“Dr. DeJoy has been a trailblazer in a number of research areas,” said Dr. Naomi Swanson, award selection committee chair and chief of the Organizational Science and Human Factors Branch at the National Institute for Occupational Health and Safety.

“We felt that his career was a prime example of how occupational health and safety research is benefitted through multidisciplinary approaches and the inclusion of public health ideas and approaches,” she said.

Read more.

Tags: ,