ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

UMass Amherst Kinesiology Students Receive NEACSM Awards

Graduate students from the UMass Amherst department of kinesiology won several scholarships and awards at the recent New England Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (NEACSM) annual meeting, held October 15-16 in Providence. Mr. Cory Greever, a doctoral candidate, was the winning presenter in the “ACSM President’s Cup,” a competition of research poster presentations at the meeting. The award includes a travel grant of $1200 as well as the registration fee for Greever to attend the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) 63rd Annual Meeting May 31 – June 4, 2016 in Boston.

[Photo: From left: Ms. Katherine LaBarbera, Ms. Erica Hartman, Ms. Sarah Burkart, Ms. Nina Moore, and Mr. Cory Greever]

“It was an honor to compete against so many accomplished graduate students in the President’s Cup. I’m extremely grateful for the recognition and excited to represent the NEACSM at the national meeting,” says Greever.

The NEACSM awarded doctoral candidate Ms. Katherine LaBarbera the David N. Camaione Doctoral Scholarship. The criteria for the $1000 award are academic excellence, professional experience, professional activities such as attending conferences and workshops, publication of peer-reviewed research, and skill in obtaining grants. Doctoral candidate Ms. Sarah Burkart was awarded the Mark Connolly Memorial Masters Scholarship. The $750 award is selected for a student researching areas of clinical or basic exercise science or sports medicine. Selection is based on academic excellence, work experience, professional activities including professional memberships, and a poster or free communication presentation at the NEACSM annual meeting.

“I was honored to receive the Mark Connolly Memorial Masters Scholarship. It is rewarding to be recognized by NEACSM for my hard work, and I look forward to continuing to grow as a student and researcher through the organization,” says Ms. Burkart.

NEACSM awarded M.S. student Ms. Erica Hartman the 2015 Student Investigator Masters Award, which is awarded to an outstanding master’s student presenting an abstract at the annual meeting. The award includes a $500 prize.

“There were so many great presentations that I was pretty surprised when they announced I had won,” says Ms. Hartman.

Doctoral student Ms. Nina Moore was the winner of the NEACSM 2015 Student Investigator Doctoral Award, which is awarded to an outstanding doctoral student presenting an abstract. Like the Masters Award, the award includes a $500 prize.

“It’s an honor to receive this award and to join the ranks of scientists who have come before me. NEACSM has been an integral part of my development as a young investigator, and I look forward to many more years as a part of this great organization,” says Ms. Moore.

“Congratulations to University of Massachusetts-Amherst,” says NEACSM executive director, Mr. Dino Costanzo. “The Department of Kinesiology had a well-represented field of competitors,” he adds.