ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UMass Professor Elected as Chairperson-Elect of the AACR Molecular Epidemiology Group

UMass Amherst professor of epidemiology Dr. Susan E. Hankinson has been elected to serve as chairperson-elect for the Molecular Epidemiology Working Group (MEG) of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR). She will assume the office at the 2015 AACR Annual Meeting, which will be held from April 18-22, 2015, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Sue Hankinson_cropped

Dr. Hankinson’s research has primarily focused on the etiology and prevention of breast cancer in women, with an emphasis on the role of endogenous hormones and other biomarkers of risk, as well as the role of lifestyle factors. Her research has been conducted primarily within the Nurses’ Health Study (NHS) and NHSII cohorts, where she has served as a senior investigator for many years.

“I look forward to bringing my years of experience to work on behalf of MEG membership,” says Dr. Hankinson. “I am committed to maintaining and expanding the profile and voice of MEG within AACR as well as more broadly in the cancer community. I hope to continue to foster educational opportunities and scientific interactions that can lead to and enhance transdisciplinary efforts, and will work to increase and diversify MEG membership, as well as increase the focus on supporting more junior investigators currently building careers in this arena.”