ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC: Nutrition Department Chair Receives American Diabetes Association’s Kelly West Award

The American Diabetes Association (ADA) presented the 2019 Kelly West Award for Outstanding Achievement in Epidemiology to Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, chair of the Department of Nutrition at the University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health. The award recognizes significant contributions to the field of diabetes epidemiology.

Dr. Mayer-Davis was recognized with the honor at the ADA’s 79th Scientific Sessions, which took place June 7-11 at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco. She delivered the Kelly West Award Lecture, titled, “Improving Outcomes — Translating Epidemiology to Clinical Trials.”

Dr. Mayer-Davis is currently the Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of Nutrition and Medicine at the Gillings School. With research focused on the epidemiology of diabetes in youth and young adults, her body of work is described in more than 300 peer-reviewed papers and book chapters. Dr. Mayer-Davis also has conducted trials in Type 2 diabetes prevention and Type 1 diabetes treatment, and performed observational studies of diabetes complications and the role of nutrition. Much of her work has focused on translating research to better understand clinical and public health implications.

“Congratulations, Dr. Mayer-Davis, and thank you for your outstanding contributions to the important topic of diabetes research as it pertains to our youth,” said the ADA’s 2019 president of health care and education, Ms. Gretchen Youssef,. “Your work has been critical to the advancement and dissemination of our understanding of diabetes epidemiology.”

Read more.

Tags: ,