ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC Nutrition Faculty Members Honored by The Obesity Society

Three nutrition faculty members at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health have been selected for prestigious awards from The Obesity Society (TOS) for impactful leadership in the field of obesity.

The awardees are Dr. Barry Popkin, W.R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of nutrition; Dr. June Stevens, American Institute for Cancer Research/World Cancer Research Fund (AICR/WCRF) Distinguished Professor of nutrition and epidemiology; and Dr. Deborah Tate, professor of nutrition and health behavior.

Award recipients will be honored during ObesityWeek 2018, the largest obesity-focused conference in the world, to be held Nov. 11-15 in Nashville, Tenn.

Dr. Popkin was selected for the 2018 Atkinson-Stern Award for Distinguished Public Service, which recognizes an individual or organization whose work has significantly improved the lives of those affected by obesity, whether through research, public policy, patient care or other means.

Dr. Stevens received the 2018 Friends of Albert (Mickey) Stunkard Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is given in recognition of a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the field of obesity through scholarship, mentorship and education.

Dr. Tate is recipient of the 2018 George A. Bray Founders Award, in recognition of significant contributions that advance the scientific or clinical basis for understanding or treating obesity and for extensive involvement with The Obesity Society.

“It is truly remarkable to have not one, not two, but three TOS major awardees from one department! This speaks to our department’s incredible depth of expertise,” said Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of nutrition and medicine and chair of nutrition at the Gillings School. “Barry, June and Deb are remarkable scientists, having contributed tremendously toward tackling the pressing public health problem of obesity in our own community and around the globe.”

Founded in 1982, The Obesity Society is the leading professional society focused upon obesity science, treatment and prevention. Its 2,500 members from around the world include basic and clinical researchers, clinicians and care providers, educators, and public health and policy professionals.

[Photo: (Left to right) Drs. Barry Popkin, June Stevens and Deborah Tate.